Browse Our Concealed Carry License Information in Crestwood, IL

Welcome to the Illinois Concealed Carry Training information page. We are a premier provider of Concealed Carry Training. Our goal is to provide the very best in Illinois Concealed Carry Training by using the best trainers and the best training methods and materials available in the business. Because our quality control standards are high, our Law Enforcement, USCCA, ILETSB and NRA certified instructors are among the best in the business. Our goal is to always deliver the best training and information to our customers. We want you, our valued customer to be happy with the training we provide. Below is a list of the training content we provide and our classroom schedule.

All classes are taught by Law Enforcement, USCCA and NRA Certified Instructors

Illinois Concealed Carry Training will qualify you for an Illinois, Florida and Arizona concealed carry permit. The required 16-hour firearms training includes range qualification and will cover: firearm safety, basic principles of marksmanship, care, cleaning, loading and unloading of a concealable firearm, state and federal laws relating to ownership, storage, carry, and transport of a firearm, weapon handling and qualification.

To attend, you must be at least 21 years of age, possess a valid state ID or driver’s license, be allowed by both state and federal law to legally possess a firearm, be able to follow all directions given by training staff and be physically capable of safely and effectively operating a firearm

The Illinois State Police will accept up to 8 hours of in-person training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement for Military with active duty papers or a DD 214, Military Discharge Form.

For the latest information on the implementation of Concealed Carry in Illinois, visit the Illinois State Police Website at http://www.isp.state.il.us/

Course Content:

  • Introduction:
  • Instructor Introduction - Course Outline with Statistics and Trends
  • Lesson One: Developing a Personal Protection Plan
  • How Common is Violent Crime in the United States?
  • Why is Conflict Avoidance So Important?
  • Situational Awareness
  • Action Versus Reaction
  • Observing Our Environment
  • Planning for Home Security
  • Mental Exercises
  • How a Concealed Carry Permit Fits
  • Lesson Two: Self-Defense Firearms Basics
  • Four Universal Safety Rules
  • Properly Clearing Semi-Automatics and Revolvers
  • Additional Safety Considerations
  • Double Action vs. Single Action
  • Detailed Revolver and Semi-Automatic Explanation
  • Handgun Sizes and Weights
  • Pro and Cons of Different Handgun Options
  • Ammunition and Ballistic Basics
  • Ammunition & Semi-Automatic Malfunctions and their Clearance
  • An Introduction to Home Defense Shotguns and the AR-15 Platform
  • Tasers and Pepper Spray
  • Lesson Three: Shooting Fundamentals
  • Muscle Memory Explained
  • Proper Grip
  • Stance or "Shooting Platform"
  • Point Shooting
  • Flash Sight Picture
  • Sighted Fire
  • Trigger Control
  • Lesson Four: The Legal Use of Force
  • Reviewing the Legal Definitions of Reasonable Force and Deadly Force
  • Understanding the Use of Force Continuum
  • A Detailed Walkthrough of the Four Pillars for Justifying the Use of Deadly Force
  • How Defense in the Home Differs from Outside the Home
  • Defending Property
  • Lesson Five: Violent Encounters and Their Aftermath
  • Understanding Fight or Flight
  • The Physiological Reactions Associated with Extreme Stress
  • Issuing Commands and Reviewing Our Options
  • When We're Left With No Other Choice
  • When the Right to Use Deadly Force Ends
  • The Immediate Aftermath
  • Dealing With the Police
  • Lesson Six: Gear and Gadgets
  • Explaining Holster Retention
  • Types of Holsters Including Belt, Pancake, Inside the Waistband and Holsters for Deep Concealment
  • Other Gear Including Belts, Tactical Flashlights, Mounted Lights, Night Sights and Lasers
  • Gun Safes and Storage
  • Lesson Seven: Basic and Advanced Skills
  • Muscle Memory Revisited
  • Properly and Safely Conducting Dry Fire Exercises
  • Self-Led and Instructor-Led Range Exercises from Beginner to Expert
  • Drawing from the Holster
  • Flashlight Options
  • Getting Your Spouse Involved
  • Raising Kids around Guns
  • What's Next?
  • Lesson Eight: Illinois Law
  1. Emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
  2. Emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
  3. The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.
  4. Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to
  5. 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person
  6. 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling
  7. 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property
  8. 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons

Students will be able to define dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and the unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the Illinois Compiled Statutes

The Department will accept up to 8 hours of in-person training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement as outlined in Section 430 66/ 75 (i) of the Illinois Revised Statutes The training course must be approved by the Illinois State Police and provided those 8 hours cover the classroom and range subject matter as outlined in paragraph (4) subsection (b) and (c) of the Act. You must bring a certificate of completion from a previously approved class, or your active duty papers, or a Form DD214.

16 Hour Illinois Concealed Carry Certification Class & 5 Year Renewals

Illinois Concealed Carry Training offers the 16 Hour Concealed Carry Class so you can apply for your Illinois, Florida and Arizona Concealed Carry Permits. The Illinois permit alone will allow you to legally carry in 27 States. By adding Florida non-resident you will add an additional 10 States.

A fingerprint vendor will be onsite each Saturday and there will be an additional fee for this service. There is no Illinois requirement for fingerprints, but it will help expedite your Concealed Carry application. Illinois fingerprint fee is $65.00...Florida, Arizona and Utah is $20.00.

Range fee is $25.00 and the cost of ammunition is not included.

Our classes will cover Defensive Shooting Fundamentals, proper grip, stance, trigger cycle, and point shooting. Your range instructor will work with you one on one for the live fire portion of this class.

We will run simulated range fire using S.I.R.T. training pistols and L.A.S.R. computerized targets prior to live range qualification.

This class is specifically designed to qualify students to obtain the Illinois Concealed Carry License. The Illinois State Police requires 16 Hours of training. At Illinois Concealed Carry Training, we offer the 16-Hour course in four (4) hour “Modules”.

Renewals

Renewal Class for the IL

CCL Permit Class can be taken up to 1 year prior to expiration, but applications cannot be submitted until 30 days before.

Monday's

  • 9:30 A.M. Registration Opens
  • 10:00 A.M. Class Begins

Wednesday's

  • 9:30 A.M.  Registration Opens
  • 10:00 A.M. Class Begins

Thursday's

  • 9:30 A.M. Registration Opens
  • 10:00 A.M. Class Begins

License Renewal Students will need the following:

  1. IL Conceal Carry License
  2. 30 rounds of ammunition. Not included
  3. Firearm (provided if needed)
  4. Hearing and eye protection (provided if needed)

Saturday & Sunday Classroom Schedule

Saturday's

  • 9:30 A.M. Registration Opens
  • 10:00 A.M. Class Begins

Module #1

  • Introduction: Statistics and Trends
  • Lesson One: Developing a Personal Protection Plan - Quiz
  • Lesson Two: Self-Defense Firearms Basics - Quiz
  • 2:00 P.M. Lunch

Module #2

  • Lesson Three: Shooting Fundamentals - Quiz
  • Lesson Four: The Legal Use of Force - Quiz
  • Lesson Five: Violent Encounters and Their Aftermath - Quiz
  • 6:00 P.M. Class Ends

Sunday's

  • 9:30 A.M. Registration Opens
  • 10:00 A.M. Class Begins

Module #3

  • Lesson Six: Gear and Gadgets - Quiz
  • Lesson Seven: Basic and Advanced Skills - Quiz
  • Lesson Eight: Illinois Law - Q & A
  • Lesson Nine: Utah Law - Q & A
  • Lunch 2:00 P.M.

Module # 4

  • The Legal Aspects of Administrative, Civil and Criminal Litigation and the Legal Service Plans that will protect you and your family.
  • S.I.R.T. pistol training virtual excercise). Dry fire with computerized laser targets & malfunction drills.
  • Range qualification consisting of 10 rounds at 5 yards, 10 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 10 yards. A score of 21 out of 30 is passing on a B-27 silhouette target.
  • The live range portion of the class will be conducted at: Sporting Arms & Supply, Inc located at 14216 South Western Avenue, Posen, Illinois or Eagle Sports located at 5900 West 159th Street, Oak Forest, Illinois. There will be a $25.00 range fee, payable by Cash, Check, Money Order or Credit Card.
  • Certificates Issued
  • 6:00 P.M. Class Ends

Module #1 - 6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M.

  • Introduction: Statistics and Trends
  • Lesson One: Developing a Personal Protection Plan - Quiz
  • Lesson Two: Self-Defense Firearms Basics - Quiz

Module #3 - 6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M.

  • Lesson Six: Gear and Gadgets - Quiz
  • Lesson Seven: Basic and Advanced Skills - Quiz
  • S.I.R.T. pistol training virtual exercise). Dry fire with computerized laser targets & malfunction drills.

Module #2 - 6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M.

  • Lesson Three: Shooting Fundamentals - Quiz
  • Lesson Four: The Legal Use of Force - Quiz
  • Lesson Five: Violent Encounters and Their Aftermath - Quiz

Module #4 - 6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M. (Range Night)

  • Range qualification consisting of 10 rounds at 5 yards, 10 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 10 yards. A score of 21 out of 30 is passing on a B-27 silhouette target.
  • Lesson Eight: Illinois Law- Q & A
  • Lesson Nine: Utah Law - Q & A
  • The Legal Aspects of Administrative, Civil and Criminal Litigation and the Legal Service Plans that will protect you and your family.

What to Bring to Class

For Modules #1, #2, #3 & #4, students should always bring an Illinois Driver License, or Illinois photo ID, and F.O.I.D card (if you have one) as well as a pen and notepad.

Students! - Do not bring guns or ammunition into the classroom!

For Module #4 and renewals, students should bring only the unloaded handgun they wish to qualify with.

Ammunition will be available at the range and you will need at least 30 Rounds for the live fire qualification. Students should also bring eye and ear protection and a baseball cap for the live fire range.

Firearms MUST be UNLOADED and in a proper container or range bag to carry in and out of the range.

Upon successful completion of the class, you will be provided with a proof of training certificate to present to the Illinois State Police for your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit or 5-year renewal certificate. https://www.ispfsb.com/

Private Instruction

We offer private instruction on Tuesday's by appointment only. This instruction will include classroom, live range and the Illinois State Police range qualification course for civilians or IROCC practice sessions.

The civilian practice course is a total of 30 rounds. 10 rounds at 5 yards, 10 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 10 yards.

The IROCC practice course is a total of 30 rounds. 12 rounds at 5 yards, 12 rounds at 7 yards and 6 rounds at 15 yards.